The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the mayor of the town of Hopewell recommends that, the best possible way to improve overall Hopewell’s economy and taxes is to build a golf course and a resort. The mayor has recommended this, by the implementation of same things in the neighbouring town of Ocean View two years ago. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated, two specific pieces of evidence must be collected and analysed.

To begin with, are Hopewell and Ocean View towns roughly comparable? In other words, can the circumstances from one town be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other one? It may be possible, that the geographic location of Ocean View town is fantastic like it may consist of a beach, or surrounded by mountains and maybe it also has one of the best sunrise and sunset points in the country. Moreover, Ocean View’s land might be flat which is suitable to play golf whereas Hopewell’s isn’t, or it is not in pristine condition. If either of the above scenarios hold water, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is the rise in tax revenues and establishment of new businesses in Ocean View town is only because of golf course and resort hotel? The mayor prematurely assumes that, since the construction and opening of golf course and resort hotel tax revenues has surged by 30 percent and numerous businesses have set up. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps, the people are well educated and qualified to work in businesses and also there might be an increase in school and university fees, which directly boosts the town’s economy. If the either of the above cases are true, then the recommendation stated in the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the two questions above and provide more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to construct a golf course and a resort hotel.