The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many nations are known by its advancements or achievements in numerous fields like politics, sports, science, and technology and so on. The prompt states that a true nation is defined by the behavior and well-being of its people, rather than successes of its rulers, artists or scientists. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that people’s livelihood is very much important to define a nation for two reasons.

First of all, the number of achievers in a particular nation consists of only small part of the population of that country. One cannot consider the greatness of its country only by its achievers. For instance, China is almost ahead compared to the whole world in every field, be it in politics, space programs, sports, science and technology, armed forces and so on. However, because of communist rule in China, the lives of people residing there is pathetic. These successful people get all the benefits from the government but what about the other citizens? For some people living below poverty line, the government is not providing basic needs also. Hence, from the above example how can one come to conclusion that China is a great nation?

Secondly, these rich, successful people like artists, sports people or politicians contribute very much less to the development of the nation in comparison to its other citizens. For example, the taxes that the government collects, 75 to 80 percent of the money is contributed by its citizens rather than its successful people. Why? Because the government have made some tax exemption for them, because they represent the nation. Internationally. Therefore, in many nations, the rich are becoming more richer and the poor more poorer. So, by the above scenario one cannot state that a particular nation is great only by looking at its best side and ignoring its worst side.

In conclusion, one may argue that the artists or scientists are the one who represent the nation internationally, so they are the most important asset to the nation. But that doesn’t mean that the nation should only be known by them, and others should be ignored. Many other people also contribute to the development of the nation, but they are not visible or heard. Therefore, well-being behavior of its citizens is really important to define a nation.