The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It follows from the argument that, Whirlwind is confident that the sales of videogames are going to boom, as they have recently launched many real-life graphics games based on the survey, they conducted recently with video game players. However, this argument will significantly strengthen or weaken, if more additional information regarding the survey, sales etc. is not provided. Hence, to completely evaluate this argument, some additional information needs to be collected, then thoroughly analyze what we learn.

The first piece of evidence is that, Whirlwind claims that their sales would significantly increase because of survey conducted which include many video game players. They also claim that the players are into the games that look like real-life. Apart from this, we would also need to know more about the survey. What genre of games players like? What kind (single player or multiplayer) of games they like? Games don’t run only run-on graphic; they also run-on story, physics etc. It is possible that, Whirlwind would develop a game in which graphics is extremely good, but lack in physics or story; as well as it is possible that they develop single player games, but, majority of the gamers need multiplayer game and vice-versa, which may lead to fewer sales on the games. Further, other game companies might also launch the games which are better than Whirlwind games, which may result in players prefer those rather than Whirlwind games. If any of the above scenarios hold water, then the argument is severely weakened.

Another piece of evidence is that, to run extremely good graphics games, players need latest up-to-date computers/laptops/consoles. These high-end computers are very much costly, and Whirlwind company has mentioned that their target audience is ten to twenty-five year old. One thing to mention is that, it also the age when people would like to start a career by focusing more on academics rather than playing games. It is possible that majority of ten to twenty-five age people focus on building their career, rather than playing games. It is also possible that, most of the ten- to fifteen-year-old don’t work and hence they rely on parents’ money. So for them, to buy games is majorly not possible. Therefore, if any of the above scenarios hold merit, then, the argument is significantly weakened.

In order to fully evaluated the argument, Whirlwind games prematurely assumes that, their sales may rise up in the coming few months. We live in an information age, in which everything is available on the Internet and everything is basically available for free. Hence, it is very much easy to develop duplicate (pirated) copies of anything developed by some hackers/developers. It is possible that, the games which are being developed by Whirlwind games may end in these hackers, which may lead to pirated copies of the Whirlwind games. These high-level graphics games are very huge in size, hence, it is possible that ten-to-twenty-year old people may copy the games from their friends and play. If these are the cases, then sales of these games might significantly decrease compared to last two years.

In conclusion, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and provide more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed claim that sales of the Whirlwind games would increase.