The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It has been stated in the editorial published in a business magazine that, the sales of Whirlwind video games are going to increase drastically due to introduction of new series of video games alongwith strong advertising campaign. The conclusion is made based on the survey of video game players. The conclusion is made on the basis of following assumptions.

The author states that, the survey of video- gamers reveal that they prefer a more life like graphic and since Whirlwind is going to launch these video games including these features the sales of the company will increase. However, it is possible that such games are already in the market developed by competitor company and the consumers don’t have the requisite infrastructure to install and enjoy these high graphic video games on their current machine. There might be a case that such increase in infrastructure is far more costly and is not affordable to these video gamers. Therefore, just launching high graphic video games will not ensure increased sales of the company.

Furthermore, it is also possible that the reason for decline of the sales is because people are loosing interest in playing these video games and are adopting other hobbies or are involved in certain other activities. For example, it is possible that few teenagers who used to play video games have now realized the importance of the physical activity and are more interested in that. There is also a possibility that they are not getting enough time to play these games due to change in their schedule which has resulted in decline of the sales. Hence, even if the high graphic video games are available they will not have the bandwidth or the interest to play.

It is also assumed that, the sales will increase with the newly introduced video games. There is a possibility that these customers have simply shifted to different video games provided by different companies since they provide different types and concepts of games. For example, say a competitor company xyz provides video games in the area of “building a city” and Whirlwind provides games related to “combat” and consumers are more interested in these city building games. So, even if Whirlwind introduces high definition graphics these people will still be choosing the other games.

From above points it is clear that the author has made few unwarranted assumptions which weakens the argument of the author that the sales of the company will increase upon introduction of high graphic video games. Further clarity on the reasons for having these assumptions need to be provided to evaluate the whole argument.