Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavious

A person's future or his/her behaviour is dependant on the circumstances he/she has gone during his/her childhood. The prompt suggest that due to increasing violence in the media crime rates in the society have increased. I agree with the author due to following reasons.

Children are susceptible to anything that goes around them. They are highly affected by the things that they see around. Their mind is like a clean slate, in which anything can be written based on the surrounding situtaion. Now a days, due to technology evolution, children are not only limited to the family environment or the environment in school. But they are also aware of what is going on in the outside world. Surely, they are exposed to a vast range of knowledge regarding various aspects of the universe but at the same time they are getting the insights of dark side of the world. The violence shown on the tv may affect their thought process wildly. They might get introduced to different methods of orchestrating a violence which they would be unaware of in normal circumstances. Hence, it is highly possible that the increasing rate of violence can be majorly attributed to violence shown in the media.

Furthermore, few argue that the surrounding of the children i.e. their parents and peers, is an influential factor in a child's development, which is 100% correct. However, all responsible parents & teachers are very careful to provide a safe environment for their children which will give them a sense of right & wrong. Sure, there will be few exceptions to this but in majority of the cases children being exposed to violence due to their parents or peers have very small chances. Maybe this is the reason that violence rate in past was much more less since children were surrounded by only their family or peers.

Additionally,in my opinion this is not that simple matter which can be attributed to single reason or factor. There might be multiple reasons involved which can explain the increased violence in the society and has to be analyzed further. However, primafece it can be said that exposure of increased violence in media plays majority role in the increased violence.