Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

teachers play a crucial role in building future of the students. The prompt suggests that the teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance. however, I disagree with this statement due to following two reasons.

First of all, every student is different and only academic performance does not define children’s aptitude. different students have inclination towards different subjects due to their proclivity to that subject. For instance, a particular student might be very good at Maths but might be terrible at history or vice versa. So in this case if the student performs terribly in history even after all the efforts by the history teacher and the student then teacher is not at fault since these parameters are not in teacher’s hands. Therefore, in my opinion it will not be fair for teachers to link their salary with the academic performance of the students.

Secondly, a person performs best if he/she is not under pressure of any kind. The pressure of having monetary income linked to the students performance may make the situation worse for teacher. The teacher may focus only on getting good grades for students rather than sharing the knowledge that they have. In worse and hypothetical condition, there is a possibility that teacher may use some unethical techniques to achieve good grades of the class. For example teaching or focusing only on the questions which will appear on tests. these conditions will result in poor evaluation of the students which in future may spoil their future. hence, it is not right to base teacher’s salary on students’ grades.

One might say that if the salary of teachers’ is based on the academic results of the students then teachers will pay extra attention to students which will benefit students. however, this will give rise to a system which will be majorly focused on academics & grades rather than students’ understanding of the subject. hence I strongly disagree that there should be any kind of interconnection between the salary & students’ grades.