Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better

understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to

us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Science is nothing but understanding of the world. It captures everything starting from small atom to entire universe, covers understanding biology to understanding the psychology & behavior. The prompt depicts two views on the understanding of the science in which few people believe that Science helps us to understand the universe better and others believe that it has just increased the complexities that we are not required to know. In my opinion, science’s contribution in the human evolution is far great and has definitely helped us understand the universe in a better way due to following reasons.

Humans are gifted with intelligence and the core nature that is expected out of human is to be curious and find answers to these curiosities. Due to this curiosity, we are able to achieve so many things throughout the history. This curiosity has helped us from making our own fire and weapons with the help of externally available things to building rocket to understand the universe and the associated planets and stars. This development has helped mankind in various things starting from finding cure for the disease which once destroyed the majority of the population, understanding the function of our own body & it’s various parts, building efficient methods to earn food , ability to travel across the globe in very less time, forecasting the weather, come up with improved modes of entertainment, communicate with people across world within seconds and what not! I am writing this essay here and some person sitting across the world will evaluate my understanding of the topic and this amazing thing is possible only and only because of science. Science has helped us to understand and predict each and every activity that goes in surrounding, so that we are better prepared for any kind of future implications. It definitely has helped us understand universe better and helped us solve many problems.

On the other hand, few people believe that we are getting knowledge which is not necessary for us. What will we do by understanding how Mars or Jupiter works? How does understanding of small organism affects our life? Let’s assume that our ancestor would have asked the same question and would have stopped there then we would have been living in the same old life that they have lived. Suppose someone from past would have thought, I don’t care about how energy works, why wind blows or why water runs in a river then maybe we would not have different source of energies today which we are utilizing to have electricity at our homes, drive the cars to work rather than walking or use all the factory manufactured items which eases our life which runs on this energy. Sure, the understanding of the entire universe is very complex in it’s original form but being ignorant to it is not solution to our problem. Universe has been complex even before origin of human beings and it is a fact, however not trying to understand how it works in not correct. In contrary, trying to understand it better in order to efficiently use the resources available will make our life easier.

Therefore, keeping in mind above points, I think that Science though complex in it’s own nature has helped us in various ways and has made our life easier. Being ignorant and selective about these curiosities will not help us now and in future.