Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to

understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to

support your answer.

There are several opinions regarding the teaching methods for students, whether they should be more focused on the concept and ideas or they should be more focused on facts. In my opinion, the students should be more focused on the concepts and ideas rather than simply to learn the facts due to following three reasons.

Due to technological evolution, all the information is easily available on a single click of a computer. All the facts, formulas and information is stored on the cloud which is easier to locate. Therefore, one shouldn't be too much focused on the information but rather than he/she should be more focused on the concept or idea of a theory or any other important aspect. For example, a concept called as right hand thumb rule has varied applications, starting from opening a screw to opening lid of any box. We can any time google how the direction of thumb and finger is associated. However, one can accurately use such concept if he/she is fully aware of the concept. To give one more example, there is a formula to determine the the length of direct/transverse common tangent of two circles. We can easily look it up on google. But in case there is no accessibility of google on any other medium, the student should be so equipped that he/she should be in a position to derive the formula by using the pythagorus theorem(Which is the main deriving principle of this formula). Therefore, I think that students should be more focused on the ideas and concepts rather than just the facts.

Furthermore, if we are well aware of the concept, then we can inspire work in another domain.For example, if a student is well aware of the concept of measurement of pressure, maybe he/she can use the same principle in calculating the blood pressure for patients in more efficient way. Hence, we can provide such inspired solutions if we are clear with the concepts and idea.

We also know that human memory is very volatile. We can forget the information that we have read/listened or saw within few days if we don't revisit again. But once we build a story around any information, it is easier for us to remember. While we learn a concept or understand any idea, we try to imagine by being in author's shoes, we try to question the concept so as to holistically evaluate the concept. In this way, the information can be stored in our minds for a longer time. So if we focus mainly on ideas/concept, the information is automatically stored in our mind.

Due to above mentioned points, I think that students should be more focused on learning about the concepts and ideas rather than learning facts, since information is anyways readily available. Such concept based learning can inspire solutions in other domains and learning facts is a byproduct if we focus on concepts.