Do you agree or diasgree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people may think that learning facts will help the students to reach higher level of success. However, I believe understanding the ideas and concepts is more important and logical for the following two reasons.

First of all, understanding the concepts and ideas will help students to see how to provide a solution to any problem which might occur not just in their classroom assignments but also outside the classroom that is being practical. For example, as a kid one is taught to do basic calculations such as addition, subtraction, etc., but he/she should also be taught how the they should apply the same logic of mathematics in real life as they grow. The understanding of giving and taking money while doing grocery, buying daily essentials, etc. Had the child was not been taught how they can use the concepts of mathematics in real life, it will be difficult to survive, and they can easily be cheated and robbed.

Secondly, able to understand the ideas and concepts will help students to retain their understanding of the logic for a longer period of time. For example, in schools, we as a student has to appear for exams like three times annually and undoubtedly, the courses and subjects remains the same rather more adds to it with time in an year. While taking the tests, everytime the student has to revise the previous courses and of course to understand the new additional topics taught in a particular semester. If everytime students just start grasping a topic, it won't be possible to remember everything, instead if the student understands the logic behind a topic that was taught earlier, one can easily retain it. Thus, it's necessary for the students to understand the concepts instead of learning the facts without giving a thought.

In conclusion, learning facts is an easy way to avoid understanding ideas and concepts, but the above two reasons clearly show that students should comprehend the concepts and ides instead of just grasping them.