"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument presented in the memo of the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is repleted with flaws and holes. The primary reason being they compared the percentages of the reviews of the current year to the previous years. Therefore, the stated argument in the memo by the advertising director is invalid.

The advertising director has not taken into the account the number (the count) of the positive reviews but the percentage to compare it with previous years. There might be a possibility that in the previous years people did not participate in providing the positive reviews and thereby the percentage was reduced or may be in the current year people who did not like the movie did not give their negative reviews and thereby the positive review percentage increased for the current year. We cannot just simply compare the percentage of reviews with the actual numbers/count of reviews. Therefore, the advertising director must look into the number of reviews to decide whether they should allocate a greater share of its budget next fiscal year to reaching the public through advertising.

Secondly, even if the Super Screen allocate a greater share of its budget next year to promulgate among people that the quality of their movies are great, what are the chances that people will attend their produced movies. There might be a possibility that Super Screen has increased their ticket fare to attend these movies and people don't seem to spend extra money on it. The other possibility could be the economy is not doing great and therefore people are not increased in spending their money on movies but on their basic necessities.

Thirdly, what are the chances that the reviews are 100 percent correct, can we believe on the face value of the reviews? There might be a possibility that people did not pay too much of heed while providing the reviews and they casually provided the positve reviews. Were the questions asked during the review were specific? As in what exactly they liked/disliked about the movie, was it the storyline, the acting, just the first half or second half of the movie or only the VFX effects. Had the reviews were detailed, the advertising director can draw conclusion about where the problem lies - is it the content of the movie or something else.

Hence, I would say the advertising director is being naive here to believe that by increasing the budget for the next year, people will come and attend the Super Screen movies. The advertising director must look at all the aspects as stated above to make the final argument.