The Gordon Act, which established a wildlife refuge in the Big Dark Swamp, is currently up for reauthorization. The act prohibits the building of roads or cutting of old growth trees in the swamp, though it permits hunting. Many blamed logging activities for the decline of the bird population, especially that of the dappled grackle. The grackle population has continued to decline since the passage of the law, demonstrating that the Gordon Act has not been sufficient to protect the species. Another nearby refuge, the Wayne County Marsh Habitat, bans all mining, logging, and hunting. Wayne County officials have not reported a decline in the grackle population there. This proves that hunting, not logging, was responsible for the population drop in Broomall County. Thus, Broomall County should not reauthorize the Gordon Act unless it is amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne County.

The argument that appeared in the Broomall County Times for not reauthorization of the Gordon Act in Broomall County unless it is amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne County, is rifed with holes and flaws. The primary reason being that the editor of this editorial considered the two County as similar in habitant, nature and their environment conditions and therefore I think the argument is invalid.

First assumption that the editor has considered is the similarity in Broomall County and Wayne County, though it says that Wayne county has banned all mining, logging and hunting, however, it never stated that what is the population of the habitants there and particularly about the grackle population. What if the number of grackles were already relative lesser than the Big Dark Swamp's number of grackles. How different is the environment setup in the Big Dark Swamp and Wayne County refuge.

Also, the Gordon Act does not allow for the cutting of the old trees, perhaps that is the reason the birds population is declining maybe because the older growth has withered entirely and if we don't cut those old trees or at least do some revamping to the refuge maybe the birds would make this refuge as their habitat place.

The editor says that the hunting is responsible for declining in the number of grackles population but this not an evidence backed reasoning, because there is not data for how many birds are hunted down, is it ocassional, too frequent or like on a daily basis. Had it clearly mentioned the data for the bird hunting or better if the editor has provided the exact data comparison between the two county, that would have made more sense.

Furthermore, the editor has blamed the logging activities for the decline of the bird population, but if the logging activities aren't done regularly would it be safe for other animals in the refuge habitat if not birds. Won't other animals would drag down in the marshy areas which will lead to decrease in other habitants of the Broomall County. The logging activities are banned in the Wayne county, maybe because there aren't any huge number of habitants. Had the editorial presented the specfic details to make accurate coomparison between the county, one would be compelled to think if they had to had not to reauthorize the Gordon Act.

Hence, I would say that the editor should first do the diligent verification of the facts and believe the data and not just the canard stories circulating around before providing not so cogent argument in the editorial.