The following editorial appeared in the Broomall County Times-Picayune:

"The Gordon Act, which established a wildlife refuge in the Big Dark Swamp, is currently up for reauthorization. The act prohibits the building of roads or cutting of old growth trees in the swamp, though it permits hunting. Many blamed logging activities for the decline of the bird population, especially that of the dappled grackle. The grackle population has continued to decline since the passage of the law, demonstrating that the Gordon Act has not been sufficient to protect the species. Another nearby refuge, the Wayne County Marsh Habitat, bans all mining, logging, and hunting. Wayne County officials have not reported a decline in the grackle population there. This proves that hunting, not logging, was responsible for the population drop in Broomall County. Thus, Broomall County should not reauthorize the Gordon Act unless it is amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne County."

The editorial that appeared in the newspaper asserts that the decline of the grackle population in Broomall County is because of the logging activities that happen in the wildlife refuge and Wayne County Marsh habitat's grackle population is stable because they prohibited logging. But this statement alone doesn't aver that the population decrease because of the logging.

Firstly, hunting is allowed in the Big Dark Swamp and hunters will not only hunt animals, they might hunt birds also. So it could be a reason the the decrease in the grackle population. However, in Wayne County, hunting is also prohibited. Since there is no hunting there the grackle population didn't reduce.

Secondly, because of the hunting in the Broomall Country, the birds the wildlife refuge might move to the neighboring county seeking shelter. So the population grackle of the Wayne County might increase since they moved there. Therefore, reducing the population of grackle in Broomall County.

Furthermore, the wildlife conditions in Wayne County might have suited the grackle population more than the Broomall County. So the Wayne County may have more wildlife population compared to the Wayne County.

Finally, it can be concluded from the above examples that logging is not the only reason for the decrease of grackle population in the wayne county and other reasons such as hunting, and wildlife habitat could also be a reason for the population decrease.