The following editorial appeared in the Broomall County Times-Picayune:

"The Gordon Act, which established a wildlife refuge in the Big Dark Swamp, is currently up for reauthorization. The act prohibits the building of roads or cutting of old growth trees in the swamp, though it permits hunting. Many blamed logging activities for the decline of the bird population, especially that of the dappled grackle. The grackle population has continued to decline since the passage of the law, demonstrating that the Gordon Act has not been sufficient to protect the species. Another nearby refuge, the Wayne County Marsh Habitat, bans all mining, logging, and hunting. Wayne County officials have not reported a decline in the grackle population there. This proves that hunting, not logging, was responsible for the population drop in Broomall County. Thus, Broomall County should not reauthorize the Gordon Act unless it is amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne County."

In the editorial of Broomall County Times, it is stated that Broomall County should not reauthorize the Gordon Act unless it is amended to include the same provisions for hunting, logging and mining as those in Wayne County. The opponents to the Gordon Act re authorization have come to this conclusion based on the comparison between banning laws in Wayne Country and Broomall County as well as the effects of these laws on the dappled grackle. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, the following three assumptions made by the opponents needs to warranted and it's implications to the argument has to be addressed.

First of all, are Big Dark Swamp in Broomall County and Marsh Habitat in Wayne County roughly comparable ? In other words can habitat circumstances and effects of banning all mining, logging and hunting in Wayne County be used to make generalizations and predictions about the habitat in Broomall County Swamp ? It is possible that the structure of flora and fauna and the ecosystem of Wayne County and Broomall County are not similar at all. For instance, there might be more number of dappled grackle predators in Broomall County compared to the number of predators in Wayne County. Further there is a possibility that dappled grackle in Broomall County is heavily dependent on trees for their survival as opposed to the dappled grackle in Wayne County. If either of these above scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument that hunting is the cause for decline in dappled grackle species over logging, is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the change in demographics of Broomall County since the past decade might have an effect on the ecosystem of that County. In other words, the climate change or increase in pollution resulting to toxins in the air might also negatively affect the survival of birds specially the grackle population. For example, increase in industrialization over the past decade might have caused rise in certain toxic chemicals in the air which are lethal to dappled grackle, which might be the reason for decline in grackle population, not the hunting in Broomall County. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, if all hunting, logging and mining is banned in Broomall County, how does it affect the day to day lives of the populace in the County who are heavily dependent for their quotidian needs on the produce from the Swamp ? Perhaps, the ban on mining might lead to increase in unemployment in the County. Maybe the ban on hunting, can cause rapid growth in the number of dappled grackle, thus imbalancing the ecosystem and inconveniencing the people around the County. If this holds merit, then the argument loses its position.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed. If the author is able to warrant the three assumptions stated above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of making amendments to the existing provisions of Gordon Act in Wayne County to include a ban on hunting, before it is reauthorized.