You have enough money to purchase either a house or a business. Which would you choose to buy? Give specific reasons to explain your choice.

According to the famous adage, 'you should not work for the money, make the money work for you', it is important to make wise financial decisions that will generate great profits. If i had to choose between purchasing a house or a business, i would definitely choose the option of business. It is my firm belief that a good business decision can increase the cash inflow and security, rather than a house, which just provides a roof to live under, because of the following three reasons.

To begin with, good business investment can provide profit money with which we could purchase a better house later on, but a static investment on a house is a dead end. Drawing from my own experience, nearby a highway there were two plots for sale. My neighbor and I decided to purchase one each since they were of low cost. My neighbor constructed a beautiful house that overlooked the green pastures around the highway and I decided to invest in construction of a petrol bank with the additional seed money I had. Five years later, the petrol bank was a huge success, since there were none available within 10 mile radius and with this profit I could build a beautiful home nearby my favorite beach. While the neighbor rarely used his highway home and made zero profit from it. This showed me that, investing in a business is a much better choice than a house.

Secondly, house can secure a shelter temporarily whereas a good business investment will secure the future. For example, during natural calamities like thunderstorm and earthquakes, houses are bound to be damaged causing extra repair money. But if the same money was invested in purchasing a business, then we need not worry about maintenance costs as much. Business can be self sufficient and self managing. A prudent business choice can provide for the future generations as well.

However, one might argue that house is a secure, less risky decision and business is filled with risk and uncertainties. But isn't life about the risk ? Risk is what makes our quotidian humdrum affairs interesting. Furthermore, a sagacious business choice after weighing out the pros and cons can guarantee success despite the heavy risk. A house maybe a secure decision but its a dead end, offering nothing more than a shelter to live in, in fact, it could demand further maintenance money which is highly unnecessary.

In the light of above mentioned reasons, I would strongly choose to purchase a business over a house, when I have enough money for it.