You have enough money to purchase either a house or a business. Which would you choose

to buy? Give specific reasons to explain your choice.

Having some money and not knowing how to spend or where to invest it in, is a tough circumstance. Some people subscribe to the theory that buying a house is the best way to spend the money, however, others hold the view that investing in businesses is the right call. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely spend the money on a house. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate my point of view.

First and foremost, in comparison to buying a house, purchasing a business is a risk that could lead up to one losing most of their money. In other words, in order to become a business owner, one should be comfortable with the chronic existence of the possibility that they could lose everything at any moment. For example, my uncle won the lottery a couple of years ago and he decided to invest all of that money in a startup company, because he taught there might be some prospects for him there. After a couple of months, he realized that the company is not meeting with success, so he tried to put in more money by selling a couple of his properties, which led up to him losing his livelihood. If my uncle had never invested his money in a startup, he would have never become broke. I am personally not the type of person who is comfortable taking risks, thus spending the money in a new business is not the best choice for me.

Second, the purpose of having a good job and running a business is for one to gain the ability to provide their primary needs and own property. Additionally, rent is one of the major expenses in most people’s lives, therefore by purchasing a nice house in a convenient neighborhood, one could save the money they normally pay for rent. For instance, I use 50% of my income paying for rent and I use the rest of the money to pay off bills, consequently there is no money left for me to go on a trip or buy new clothing items with.

To sum up, purchasing a house rather than a business would be a better choice in my case, since I tend not to take risks and I would be able to travel with the money saved.