Do you agree or disagree with this statement .the purpose of television is entertainment and not education.

Nowadays, television plays a significant role in every society. I personally subscribe to the theory that television is mostly for entertainment rather than education. I will illustrate my point of view in the following essay.

First, in order to survive the current economic climate, most adults have to work from dawn to dusk. Therefore, owing to their hectic lifestyles and tight schedules, they do not have much time to spend on enjoyable activities outside of work. Television programs, however, provide them with a variety of entertaining programs such as reality shows, documentaries, comedy series, stand-up comedy shows, drama series and et cetera. These programs can help people get relaxed and refresh their minds after having a hard day at work. For instance, my parents spend a majority of their time at work every day and when they return home at the end of the day, they turn on the television to watch an episode of a comedy show and enjoy themselves. My mom always says that the thought of arriving home and watching this show while having dinner is one of the only things that help her get through a day at work. If it wasn’t for the entertainment aspect of television, most people would have come back home to nothing but an ordinary boring night.

Second, television provides several programs for kids to watch. Since, most kids’ parents are fully occupied, either with a job or household chores, they automatically cannot spend a lot of time with their kids. Television programs, such as cartoons, musical shows, animations, kids’ shows and so on, enable parents to do their jobs while their children are busy watching television, instead of running around and making a mess or getting themselves hurt or in trouble. I remember a couple of years ago, my great grandmother was telling me about how hard it was to raise kids when she was a young mother. She mentioned that she could not get anything done around the house because she had to watch her kids all of the time, since the only form of entertainment for them back then, was playing with their friends in the alley. She added that nowadays, thanks to the advent of televisions, there are more means for kids to become entertained and parents can allocate their time to doing their daily tasks.

It is my firm conviction that television is more entertaining than educating because its programs can help adults to ease their minds and clear their heads after spending a tough day at work plus its entertaining facet also keeps kids busy and helps their parents to do what they have to do.