Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends play a very important role in every individual's life. I personally subscribe to the theory that making new friends is a lot more important than keeping old ones. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate my point of view.

First and foremost, people tend to change throughout time, specially when they're young. As one grows older, not only they change but so do the people they tend to hang out with and the circumstances surrounding their lives. Therefore, it's not a shocking occurrence when people who have been friends for long periods of time, suddenly grow apart and become strangers. I remember three years ago when the college decisions were out, my best friend at the time and I decided to check the results together. So she came over to my house and we logged into our accounts and found out that we got accepted in two different colleges. We both started crying because we had plans to spend our college years together, but life doesn't always give you what you expect it to. After all, my friend moved to another city and we both got so caught up in our own busy schedules that we gradually drifted apart.

Secondly, people need to make new friends in order to find the people who like the same things as they do. People are unique individuals, whom are interested in different things than others; in order to enhance every aspect of his/her life, one has to initiate new relationships and friendships. For instance, I've always been a theatre lover but for many years none of my existing friends even remotely liked spending a night in an audithorium watching a performance; I often went there alone by myself. But one day I met a girl in the audience which was also a theatre fan and we immediately became friends. We started to hangout ever since, we tend to go the theatre at least 4 times every three weeks and afterward we spend some time in a coffee shop discussing the performances and theatre itself. If I hadn't taken the initiation and never made friends with her, not only I probably would have stopped going to the theatre and but also i would have never gotten the opportunity to discuss my ideas about theatre with another person.

It is my firm conviction that making new friends is an essential decision that everyone should make because both us and the circumstances surrounding us tend to change every once in a while and we need to find and hangout with the people whom we enjoy their company and are more like us.