Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I am of the opinion that the older we get, the more difficult the process of making new friends becomes. Based on what I can observe from adults around me, I see they tend to make fewer and fewer friends each year as they keep on with life. Thus, I believe we should prioritize keeping our good old friends over trying to be friends with people showing up later in our course of life.

As I have mentioned above, making new friends is easier said than done, especially when we get older and turn into the world of grown-ups. In fact, only children and young students seem to obtain new friends to their friend list on a regular basis since they have more time for getting to know and hanging out with others. However, for adults, we are more up to ears with work and responsibilities while making new friends truly takes a considerable amount of time and effort. As a result, rather than investing time to newly-formed friendships, it is better to spend our valuable time with precious buddies who we have known for a long time.

On the other hand, there is no doubt friends who we chose to get close to long ago have become an integral part of our life. Having known each other since childhood or university, we and our best friends have together gone through difficult stages of life when we were young, messy and immature. Thus, such friends can be considered the ones who know and understand us the most, compared to friends who we meet at a later stage when there are little chances for friends to overcome life obstacles together. Also, old friends are more likely to be willing to help us out when we are in need. This is because there is already a strong bond and a strong sense of faith that have been built up over years in the friendships. Therefore, it is more important to keep those connections strong for the sake of both sides, rather than weakening them when we try to focus on finding new relationships.

In conclusion, although I admit that it is inevitable we will occasionally become friends with new people in our life, I believe maintaining our closeness with our long-time friends is much more crucial. I feel this way because I know it will be hard to have good friends later in life and that our old friends are ones of the most important people in our life.