Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In recent decades, it has become a challenge for companies to increase their retention rate of employees, which means to keep their employees staying with the company for a long time so they can reduce the time and effort spent on training new ones. I am of the opinion that workers' decision to stay depends much on their satisfaction, which can be improved by the variety of tasks they are required to do at work.

First of all, having to keep doing the same set of tasks every workday can have a significant impact on workers' motivation to get to work. One obvious effect is that they can easily get bored during their working hours. Some cope with this boredom by distracting themselves to scroll through social media or have some chit-chat when they are supposed to focus on the job. As the result, not only do those same types of tasks remain tedious and monotonous, they are also not getting done with full attention from unmotivated workers. This will only make the matter worse, creating a loop of dissatisfaction at work. Therefore, employees, especially the young ones, are most likely to stay enthusiastic and content with their job when it does not repeat from day to day.

What’s more, handling different types of tasks beyond the daily similar can actually bring employees more job satisfaction and contentment than they ever expect. Not any hired person comes into a job position knowing everything. If such workers are assigned some new duties each day at work, learning and gaining diverse experience on the job will become a matter of time. For instance, if accounting staff is asked to cooperate with other departments to increase company’s sales, they may end up learning from marketing and human resource team too. By facing such challenges in their job, workers are able to strengthen their corporate skills and obtain more knowledge about the industry, which constitute the continuous success in their career path. Eventually, it will become difficult to not feel satisfied and proud of how far they have come in their professional journey.

In conclusion, job satisfaction plays a crucial role in workers’ productivity and success at work. In order to achieve it, ever-changing workdays tend to offer better conditions for development than daily repeating loads of work.