TPO 09 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the last decades, millions of children have been born and raised in the golden days of digital era. Being surrounded my modern technology ever since they were born, I believe this generation is in a favorable condition that will enable them to leverage their creativity and even surpass the previous generations in the future.

First of all, creativity seems to be a hallmark of children and modern technology actually offers them even more inspiration to keep on creating new ideas. Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see kids with their own digital devices such as mobile phone, notepad or personal computer. Having constant access to virtual space means children are immersed in the world of endless ideas which will in turn become a source of food for their imagination and other cognitive functions. A recent study has shown children who use mobile devices on a regular basis tend to come up with more creative ways of solving puzzles and math problems, as compared to their peers who know little about digital devices. Therefore, it would be wrong to say technology chokes the creativity growth of children; in contrast, the opposite is the reality.

Furthermore, as grown-ups, there has been many times when we can’t help but getting amazed by today youngsters’ unimaginable ideas on the same thing we used to create. It can be said that our past creations are not lost but rather be innovated along with the development of technology. In the past, children explored and expanded their land of creativity through building legos, creating artworks and making crafts. Such activities are what modern children are doing too, except that they have gone beyond what past children could have ever dreamed of. For example, besides building lego constructions, children can maximize their creativity and imagination through creating a whole new country of their own in video games. Also, not just making kites and paper-planes, nowadays children are writing codes to run their self-made robots. The enormous extent of what children can do with their imagination seems to strongly correlate with the growth rate of technology.

All in all, everyone agrees children, irrespective of what time they come from, have always been the most creative population on the globe. That being said, with the help of new technology, children born on modern days appear incredibly better at generating fascinating original ideas, compared to their peers of the past. This is mostly because technology has provided plenty of resources for their development.