TPO 62 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement After completing high school students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

As education is increasingly highly valued when it comes to landing a job and climbing the social ladder, more and more emphasis is placed on university degrees and qualifications. Although attending college right after graduation seems to be a popular choice among high-schoolers in order to achieve those certificates as soon as possible, I believe taking a gap year can help tackle the problems of choosing wrong career paths resulted from it.

It is true there is a large percentage of students who apply to colleges without any specific goal or direction. A recent study suggests more than half of high-schoolers interviewed said they just wanted to enter college in order to avoid the pressure coming from their peers and parents. As a result, not all students can manage to get admitted to a good school or choose a major that is right for them. This comes at the expense of their own time and money. For example, my brother was a cheerful freshman in his first year at his new school. He was delighted and relieved to be able to study computer science, which is one of the most popular majors these days. However, as he got to dive deeper to the subject during his senior years, my brother realized he was not cut out for it. It was the lack of real life experience and self-understanding after high school graduation that led him to a career he can’t enjoy doing.

On the other hand, taking a year off is not a waste of time as believed by many students and their parents. In reality, by being active and eager to learn through work or travel, young students can obtain more incredible experiences than they would ever imagine. In many cases, high-schoolers who decided to have a gap year finding their passion even ended up having a successful career path of their own, without having to spend 4 years studying at a university. And even if they are not successful, during that one-year journey, students can be sure to gain a lot of knowledge about themselves, and thus be able to discover what major or pathway he should focus on later in his higher education. Either way, spending a whole year exploring the world and exploring oneself will only offer benefits for students who are looking for a way.

In conclusion, since a career path is a lifetime journey and university courses are not the only way to find it, students should not rush into it right away after graduation. Having some time off to travel and explore the real world will best prepare them for the biggest journey of their lives.