TPO 62: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the importance of the right timing in the process of education is explicit to everyone. Despite that some people believe students should go to university right after ending the high school, I am of the conviction that it would be a better idea to be at least one-year distance between school and university, due to a couple of reasons that I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it helps students to rest and get fresh for studying again at university because however they may work and have duties, they can take distance from constantly studying after years. I should admit that my opinion is influenced by y personal experience. In my country, we ought to spend twelve years of study in schools before the university, and it contains loads of various tough courses that made the students exhausted, then immediately after these years, we should study hard for our national entrance exam that is so competitive to enter the university. It is a rush process that puts the students under noticeable pressure. As a result, students enter the university while there is no incentive and energy left in them. So, taking a year off, it does not matter in which way; working, traveling, or just resting can be helpful significantly.

Moreover, it may be an excellent opportunity for the young to get experience and grow up before going to the next stage of their life. I strongly believe that real life can teach us enormous things, and we do need this knowledge to go to university because it is a great step forward into our future and we should be mature enough to take advantage of it properly. So a year is a good chance to experience life and get this information. For instance, I had a roommate in the dormitory, she was one year older than us and she had spent that year working in some volunteer activities, she was as experienced as a mother for us, she organized things in the room, she helped the other residents to get used to living far from family and she made reconciliation between arguments and fights. She always said that she earns this characteristic in those activities that she had.

To sum up, I strongly believe that every student needs to distance from the study after finishing high school and do something else. That is much better because they can revive and gain valuable acquirements.