TPO49: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friendship is one of the most crucial needs of humans. Everyone needs friends and social communication. Beyond having social relationships, people need their friends to share happiness and sadness, to get help in rough days. People have different strategies in friendships. Some prefer to have a small number, But long-lasting friends. Others are passionate to make many new friends. In my opinion, I agree with the mentioned statement in question.

To begin with, friends are family members that we choose. We are not forced to accept them. We find them by ourselves. As I said, we need them by our side in our lives, not just for a short period. I live far from my family, and now, I spend more time with my best close friends. They are my family now. They always love and support me. So it could not happen if I had not the ability to find friends for a long period. And as a result, it brings me joy and happiness instead of loneliness far from my hometown.

Moreover, I think long-lasting friends are more reliable. So it is important to keep these friendships. When you have someone to confide, to tell your secrets, you will be more healthy mentally, because you do not have to keep everything in your mind. And most people are more convenient to speak with a reliable friend, not family. Or when you need someone, who is better than an old friend? One day, one of my best friends had a car accident. She did not want to make her parents worried, so she immediately called me and another friend of ours. We stayed with her every day and night in the hospital.

To sum up, making a lot of new friends is somehow exciting, and it may make you happy for a while. But friendships forever? It gives you deep happiness for a lifetime, that you feel it inside.