Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important for modern human beings to improve their social skills and network to build a prosperous life for themselves and their family. In this line of thought, some people believe that the ability to create friendships with a limited number of people for an elongated period of time is more essential to keep people satisfied with their lives than the ability to make friends easily, while others think otherwise. I, personally, concur with the former group for 2 primary reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First, old friends, even a handful of them are beneficial to stay healthy mentally. To be more specific, in front of old friends, who are mostly close and intimate friends, individuals do not need to censor themselves. So, they could perform in any way they want without stress. Besides, there is a plethora of fun and positive memories that each person has created with her/his sincere friends. If people recall those memories and keep them in mind, they always will be cheered up and recognize that their existence is valuable for a group of people. Accordingly, their mental health and intellectual abilities would be ensured with old friends.

Second, having some friends with a long history behind them comes in handy in the troubles and dilemmas of life. Indeed, in today's chaotic life, having some people, whom human beings can totally trust and rely on, is necessary. To elucidate this matter, old friends are people, who listen to you in your difficulties and implement anything they afford without any expectations. On the other hand, new friends may not be willing to dedicate their time or efforts to support their friends in crisis. I take myself as an example to illustrate this. When I was a university student, I lived in a dormitory. In the middle of the semester, I became so sick that the dormitory manager transferred me to the hospital. As I was far away from my hometown, Rafsanjan, it took at least 2 days for my parents to come to Tehran and take care of me. In those two days when I had been hospitalized, my old friend, Sarah, who lived in Tehran, took a leave from her work and looked after me. Despite my inconvenient situation, I was so happy about having such a friendship. When I compare her with my roommate, who was reluctant to even visit me at the hospital to avoid getting ill, I realized profoundly that old friends are the most precious people in one's life that bring joy and hope along with themselves.

To wrap up, old but close friends even a small number of them are advantageous for entering satisfaction in individuals' lives. Not only do they conserve and improve their friends' mental health but they also are reliable people, on whom individuals can count in their lives' problems.