TPO64: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Despite that some people prefer to follow news by the media that people in it represent the same perspective as them, I am of the conviction that it is a better idea to hear news from the people that think differently from me, and I feel this way for a couple of reasons that I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, I think it helps you to challenge your opinion and find the right point of view. Since when you listen to something that is in contrast with what you thought, you will get familiar with other perspectives and news related to them and you can review your beliefs. I should admit that this opinion is influenced by my personal experiences. When I was a teen, I had some strong beliefs in supporting some politicians that I felt that this is the best side that I can take. After a while, when I started to watch news that was represented by the contrary sides of political points, I found some doubt and ambiguous points in my opinion, so it made me rethink those ideas again.

Secondly, I believe it makes you more open-minded against criticisms. When you hear or read the news in the opposite way of your points of view, you can gradually stand all criticism and negative comments. But if you always follow just the news that agrees with you, you may think that you are always right and anybody else should not have this chance to say something different to you. For instance, I have a friend that you can never say something critical about his political and religious beliefs. When I question some parts of his opinion, then he definitely starts to argue with me in a harsh way, consequently, I prefer to never talk with him again about this subject. And I now he just becomes aware of news by the TV channels and social media on his side.

To sum up, in my mind, it would be a better idea if we get news from people that have contrary viewpoints. It is because examine our sight and accepting negative comments.