Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Today's chaotic world is changing at an unbelievably swift pace, which raises the urge to pursue the daily news in order to keep up with recent events. In this line of thought, some people prefer to follow the news presented by people with resembling views, while the other group selects otherwise. After taking various factors into account, I, personally, concur with the latter group for two primary reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First, people, who hold the opposite view, enlighten the other sides of an issue, which may not have been noticed previously, resulting in a profound perception of it. To be more specific, people, who do entirely agree with a concept may not care about its drawbacks in the first place. On the other hand, critics and antagonists analyze the disadvantages of a notion and highlight them. In this way, watching or reading the counter viewpoint diminishes superficial thoughts and adds more depth to one's understanding. I take myself as an example to clarify this complex context. When I was at Tehran University, I pursued the university news on the Instagram page of TNEWS, which was an association of students, who looked critically at the university's decisions. I remember, back then, I was so happy that the university announced that they are going to renovate the library soon. A few days after starting the construction, TNEWS posted some pictures and explained that this construction project bothered a sum of students, who settled in the Fatemie Building. As a native student, I would never have thought about dormitory residents, whose educational performance might get affected by the library project's constant noises. Therefore, the opposite news illustrated new aspects for me to think deeper about this plan.

Second, knowing the contrary point provides individuals the opportunity to decide which side to stand on. Indeed, juveniles have not got well-equipped with vast useful knowledge and experience. Accordingly, they have to rely on and believe in the opinions of older people in different fields. However, sometimes, those imitated or copied ideas are misleading and wrong. Listening to the other view and criticisms may lead youngsters to change their minds and take the reasonable and correct side. This is an opportunity that would never have been gained if the youth ignored opponents and stuck to the agreeing party.

To sum up, following the news along with opponents is preferable because not only it provides a deep understanding of different news but also it enables young people to reevaluate their ideas and choose the right side.