Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the recent years the credibility of mainstream media has been under immense scrutiny. There are news outlets that have certain agenda and are only pursuing that aspect which serves their point of view. This has resulted in a domino effect where opposing news outlets are going further to the end of their political spectrum to prove the points that they see as true. Hence, one question arises from this phenomenon: should one listen to the news that supports their point of view or he should listen to those that oppose it. In my opinion, listening to opposing news sources is better for the following reasons.

There is a phenomenon that have long been discovered known as "tunnel vision". This phenomenon suggests that people remain fixated on a notion and cannot find solutions to problems and can only circumvent this problem by opting for a different perspective. When the news about certain policies or events emmerge, news outlets try to control the narrative by pushing their own agenda. In order to better understand those events, one should have access to sources that produces details that are seperate from his own to prevent the "tunnel vision". When policies are introduced, it might benefit some people who have a certain political view. Thus, one should pay attention to others with different perspectives to decide whether it can be good for the whole community but only to those with whom he agrees.

Secondly, social media is now the dominant source of news. People do not tune into TV to watch news but simply follow certain outlets on social media and get informed in that manner. The social media companies have constructed algorithms that multiplies the contents that one likes or uses more time to watch. They produce personality profiles for consumers and expose them to content that complies with their personality and consequently their political views. As a result, people get constantly bombarded by similar contents. This can result in not getting informed with other news that we might not value but are equally or even more important. Thus, in order to have access to different outlets and perspectives one should delibrately and constantly try to access news that opposses their preconcieved notions.

All in all, in this modern world we are bombarded with options and it is even important when it comes to news. By using our phones we can scroll through news quite effortlessly from around the world. Yet it is important if we consume content or news that are not from an outlet that leans towards our political views. Journalism cannot unfortunately be biased. Hence, we should listen to different journalists but mostly to those whom we might oppose but make our own minds.