Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

In such a sophisticated world where we live in, knowledge acquired by news comes to our aid in everyday life and paves the way for being successful and having a prosperous life. Throughout history, due to its paramount importance, knowledge has played a prevailing role in human's success. In this regard, there is a long-standing, heated debate among people about whether it is beneficial to watch and read new presented by people whose vantage point is different or similar from us. Some people are leading proponents of the claim that owing to consolidate our beliefs, watching news presented by people who have same views carries more weight. Nonetheless, notwithstanding all its merits, from my own perspective, this statement is false. As a matter of fact, I wholeheartedly disagree with such people and as far as I concern, I strongly recommend that people watch news presented by people from different views. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will delve into two conspicuous reasons in order to aptly elaborate on my standpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that it can make significant contributions to broadening our worldview. In other words, be watching news from both opponent and opposite's presentations, we are exposed to various side of an event which they consider to prove their views. Consequently, we come to a deeper understanding of occurrences. The noteworthy statistics, revealed by recent ground-breaking research conducted in our country, indicate that eighty percent of well-informed folks pursue news from different channels and resources. Watching news from different resources, therefore, can assist us to develop our knowledge base.

Furthermore, it is established beyond doubt that it can bring about changing our standpoint as a result of being erroneous. To take a personal experience as an example, few years ago, I was in a complete agreement with opinion of the previous president of my country. However, during election, by listening to rival parities’ news, I figured out I made mistake. In the process, I changed my mind. Had I not followed news from rivals TV channels, I would have not found out that my conviction was wrong.

To wrap it up, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that following news presented by people with opposite views can offer various benefits and could at time be an asset. It is anticipated that if people take this action, society will take advantage of well-informed citizens, especially in political subjects.