Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Young people are the cornerstones of society, whose abilities determine its prosperity or retardance. In this line of thought, some people believe that rules adopted for youngsters to pursue are too severe, while others hold the opposite view. Admittedly, even though a handful of rules may seem too absolute, I, personally, concur with the latter group for 2 main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

The first and foremost reason for the aforementioned notion is that set rules were created in a way that makes juveniles' life prosperous. In this vein, respecting the established rules build youth's discipline, which in turn bestows them with further job opportunities in order to attain glory in their career. Youngsters, who do not respect the law, will never be capable of either interacting with society or generating a decent or sustainable life of their own. Besides, rules make youngsters gain more skills, which would come in handy in the future. For example, when a student needs to show up at school at a specific time, he gradually learns to arrange his affairs and make a plan to sleep sooner at night for the sake of getting up early in the morning. If a student learns and practices planning skills during the education period, he never faces troubles in his future career. Additionally, it raises the demand for hiring him for higher job positions.

Secondly, pursuing rules ensures the youth's mental health. To be more specific, rules were held to prevent conflicts in society. If individuals do not implement rules, they probably will have arguments about every single issue in their daily life with other people in the community. These arguments increase the level of tension, stress, and pressure, which leads to detrimental consequences on mental health. On the other hand, juveniles can build a good picture of themselves by acting legally in society, resulting in attracting people's attention. In this way, they can find a network of companions, who are ready to assist in crisis or may find more job positions, both of which raise their sense of satisfaction. If a young person fills his life with positive emotions, he will be able to improve his mental health status.

To sum up, obeying rules not only makes young people live a gainful life but also guarantees their mental health. So, by ignoring a few if any tough rules, most established rules are beneficial for the youth.