Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In modern societies, if you are under eighteen, there are some rules you are expected to comply to, irrespective of where you are in the world. Although many grown-ups would say following rules is for the best of society and young people themselves, I'm of the opinion that such strict rules won't guarantee a better world or better lives of the young.

First of all, everyone born and raised on this planet deserves the right to lead a life they desire, including the young. The fact that every human only lives once truly makes some certain restrictions put on young humans appear unreasonable. If young people were legitimately treated the same as other adults around them, they would get to experience life to the fullest, just like how their same kind are doing, without having to wait until their age reaches a certain number. It is sad to think about the number of people that didn't get the chance to celebrate their adult ceremony and unlock fun activities in life that only grown-ups are allowed to do, such as driving or traveling alone. Of course, they would have to acquire some fundamental education and learn to take responsibility for their own behaviors, yet age shouldn't be a limit to their experience in life.

On the other hand, rules that are too rigid can have opposite effects on young people, who are always curious and not afraid of anything. It is undeniable that rules and restrictions can actually trigger the young's curiosity, especially when those regulations only apply on them. For example, some students may wonder why they are not permitted to smoke while their parents are. As curious as they are, students may find a way to try smoking or drinking alcohol and develop unhealthy habits. This is only one of the cases where strict rules don’t maintain the discipline of society as well as the well-being of young students. Therefore, the focus should not be placed on keeping the underage under control with rigid regulations based on the norms, but on educating them to become a wholesome generation who know what they should and shouldn’t do.

In conclusion, it is true some rules and regulations should be strictly enforced in order to keep the society in peace. That being said, the rules should also be applied to every citizens and not just one particular age group since everyone was born with the same human rights.