Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There is no shortage of pedagogic opinions on whether the stress should be placed more on teaching ideas and concepts or on teaching facts. Although some realistic educators believe it is important for students to learn practical information, general educators, including me, hold a strong belief that understanding the big picture is key to successful education.

First of all, it is clear that in order to fully understand a reality, some foundation of basic concepts should be acquired first. There is no doubt without learning and truly understanding the general idea of something, students can easily misunderstand, or not understand at all, its real-life applications. I remember always getting amazed by the story of how Issac Newton discovered gravity. Gravity is a reality everyone can observe with their own eyes. However, without knowing what it really is and how it works, people can't really explain why apples fall from the tree. On the contrary, after the concept was understood and defined, it has become much easier to learn and expect phenomenon caused by the force of the Earth. Thus, taking time learning concepts will help students look at things differently and more accurrately when they learn facts later on.

Moreover, by exploring and gaining understanding of some ideas and concepts, students will be able to expand a wide range of other ideas and even create their own. This is possible thanks to the fact that human brain is advanced at connecting, reflecting and generating ideas continuously. Back to the story above about Newton’s discovery of gravity, a myriad of other concepts and applications have come into existence based on his theory of gravity. Once established, ideas spread like fire from candles to candles. With a variety of established ideas in their heads, no one can anticipate what they will able to invent and create in the future.

In conclusion, it is true that facts are important for students to know, yet in order to make sense and gain true acquisition of information taught at school, it's more beneficial for them to fully comprehend theoretical ideas and concepts first. I believe it's the way education should focus on and not the other way round.