TPO 66 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

All around the world, the emphasis placed on being successful has always been heavy and there's no shortage of opinion on how to achieve it. Although wisemen from previous centuries would advise people to focus solely on one skill to succeed in life, modern generations including mine would agree that the more the better.

One of the reasons why developing different skills will be more beneficial is because it brings people more satisfaction in their career path. It is safe to say that having focus on improving one single skills does not seem to go well with the ever-changing development of society anymore. Nowadays, more than five basic skills are needed in any job position, so obviously that human resource officers don’t even bother to put them in the job descriptions. Those basic skills, such as technology, communication and collaboration, can be considered the key factors if employees want to do their work well in any working environment. As they keep learning and acquiring new skills, they may advance even further in their career ladder and thus become very successful, which mastering only one skills could not lead them to.

The acquired skills will not only benefit professional life but also have positive impacts on and help bring success to the daily life. By knowing how to do certain things at home, such as cooking and fixing things around the house, one can save an incredible amount of money which might have been spent on paying other experts to do them for him. This contributes to making life flow more smoothly as the finances become better managed. In addition, having soft skills can also get us through life properly, especially when it comes to maintaining and improving our relationships with others. For example, having conflicting opinions with friends wouldn’t be a problem if we have good communication skills that allows us to embrace the difference and have wholesome arguments. Consequently, through developing useful skills, one can also developing a good lifestyle and healthy relationships.

In conclusion, as citizens who live in a society that keeps changing and becoming more complicated, we have to try hard to keep up with the changes by keep learning and improving ourselves. All the skills we learn will definitely pay off, no matter if it’s our professional or personal life.