TPO 50 Independent Writing Task all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

In recent years, the importance of history has been more widely recognized, making it a compulsory subject in many high schools. This leads to a debate that whether history courses should be made a required course in university too. Although some history fans would certainly be in favor of this plan, I personally don't think it will be beneficial to college students of other study field.

First of all, history courses provided by university will probably be a waste of time since all students have already learned all the basic historical knowledge at high school. It is undeniable a specialized history course will impart students with information about amazing historical events and analysis in depth. However, if it was to be an obligatory course for all students from different majors, it would be conducted as a general course which will likely go through all the information students have learned before. This amount of time for re-learning a subject should rather be spent on digging into their field of study. That is not to mention, if history was that essential for college students, it would have been featured in most majors a long time ago and not waited until recently. Therefore, it is safe to say that all undergraduates have the right to focus on their major only.

Second, the original purpose of a mandatory history classes would be counter-productive and turn students to dislike this interesting subject. Having learned history at school, most students will easily get discouraged if they know they will have to study it all over again. This may give students false impression and judgements about the course even before it starts. Additionally, at the age of 18 and above, all learners have developed their preference over which subject they would love to dig deep into. As they know what they like and what they think will support them in their future career, undergraduates should be the one to decide if they should take a general course like history. That being said, they can always learn more if they want to, with the help of the Internet and no need to attend a university course which surely costs them some money.

In conclusion, everyone knows learning history is key to understanding the world yet when it comes to a university course, students' field of study should be considered as one of the top priorities. Students can easily learn more about the history of any worlds, periods or subjects when they feel the need to, instead of being required to take the class at university.