TPO57 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The best way to truly relax and reduce stress is to spend time alone

There is no shortage of opinion on the most optimal way to rewind and release stress after long hectic days. Although many extroverts would choose to go out with their friends or family to have fun and escape the daily pressure, I think we make the most use of our relaxing time by being on our own.

I believe it is precious to have time just for myself. In fact, we already spend most of our time every day being surrounded by other people, either at home, at school, at work or in public places. It is true that socializing is a crucial part of human life in order to keep moving, but it does take lots of energy and effort to maintain interaction, which can be exhausting, especially if we are not into talking to people. That is not to mention the feeling of being judged and poorly influenced when being with other people can cause several mental illnesses such as social anxiety and depression. As socializing gives us social rewards, it can also become a main stressor in our life.

On the other hand, it is clear that spending more time on our own is the way we try to balance between social and private life. When we are alone, there is no need to please other people, put up with things we don’t enjoy doing or even pretend to be someone else that contradicts our true selves. When we are on our own, we are the one to decide what we want to do, and thus can enjoy our precious happy time to the fullest. For example, I’m always afraid of my friends and family judging me for writing poems as they think it is a weird hobby, so I would never bring up that topic whenever they are around. However, I still go to a coffee shop alone and compose poems every once in a while, which always gives me the most peaceful moments when I’m living my true self. Those truly relaxing moments could not be made possible if I didn't choose to spare some time on my own.

In addition, the fact that going solo offers a number of mental benefits makes it the best way one can rest and get revitalized. One of those benefits includes increasing the understanding of ourselves. Unlike when we are together with other people, we are able to think more about ourselves when we are alone as there is no connection distracting our thoughts. As we talk to ourselves, we can hear our voice only and thus be able to focus on understanding our feelings, hopes and experiences. Not only do we get to know ourselves better and realize what our heart desires, but we can also find out solutions to the problems we are encountering in daily life. As a result, the more time is spent on reflecting, the happier our life becomes.

In conclusion, our modern life is getting more and more complicated every day, and being with others may be not the best way to having true relaxing moments. Instead, few hours of solitude can be what we need the most for a clear and healthy mind.