Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In recent decades, the rate of employee retention has become more and more important to many employers as they realize how much time and effort it would save the company from excessive training process. As for how to keep employees satisfied with their job, some employers insist workers would prefer go through different tasks on a workday, while others believe they feel happier doing the same tasks everyday. I’m in favor of the second belief.

First of all, giving workers many types of work can actually cause more harm than good to their job satisfaction. In fact, when job applicants looks through job descriptions, they choose ones where they are expected to do what they have been trained for at university of vocational school. For example, a prospective teacher would expect her job to require planning and giving lessons to students on a daily basis. This is how majors and specializations give people expectations of their future jobs. By assigning hired people to various tasks in their working hours, managers are more likely to make them feel overwhelmed rather than satisfied with how their work flow goes. Consequently, employees can’t fully pay attention to any of the tasks, which only deteriorates their productivity and efficiency at work.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why workers can still get more satisfied and contented even if they are doing the same tasks every day. Handling a same set of work all day long for a certain period of time, workers will surely find it easier to do their job as they are already accustomed to it. As a result, these workers are able to do all of their work faster, which might enable them to wrap up their workday in happiness as all the work have been completed. Moreover, gaining experience on doing familiar tasks also helps employees to tackle their job better than those who only get to deal with them a few time. Not only can they be satisfied for mastering their position but they can also obtain more happiness from helping colleagues who are having trouble doing the tasks.

In conclusion, although having the same kind of tasks every day sounds like a tedious and monotonous work life, it is much more beneficial in reality when we consider how productive and efficient one can get at their job. It is true as the saying goes ‘Jack of all trades is master of none’.