Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In recent years, how people manage and allot time to different daily tasks has shifted dramatically along with the dizzying development speed of society. From my point of view, modern humans now tend to focus more on their personal preference than to social expectations and responsibilities.

The decrease of priority put on important things can be blamed on mobile devices and social media. It is widely acknowledged nowadays that our phone and social media can be more addictive than we can expect. As social networking apps keep being updated to engage more audience, for a longer period of screen time, people seem to inevitably get trapped in the virtual world. As a result, social media users, who make up around 85% of the world population, tend to put off the tasks they know they should be doing and procrastinate until it is not too late. They end up spending a lot of time scrolling on their devices, indicating they prioritize their personal recreation over responsibilities. This phenomenon has become so prevalent that every citizen on the globe says they can relate a lot to it.

On the other hand, it can be considered a human nature that we enjoy doing things which stimulate our dopamine and avoid more challenging tasks such as doing homework or saving the whales. There is no doubt simple things according to our personal liking not only feels much more comfortable doing but also rewards us with happy hormones that encourage us to repeat the action. On the contrary, hard tasks that we are supposed to complete require more will power and motivation. For example, we tend to leave our household chores until we feel like it's time to start doing and spend the meantime on more entertaining activities such as watching TV or hanging out.

In conclusion, after centuries of evolution and decade of social development, I feel that today's people tend to spend more time on doing what they enjoy than they did in the past. Of course, some duties are inevitable, yet they don't seem as important as before, especially when it comes to choosing between personal enjoyment and responsibility.