TPO 17 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

As consumerism thrives, advertisements start to show up in every corner of our daily life that it is rare to getting through the day without seeing any ads. Although advertisements are supposed to be an honest introduction of the products, nowadays they seem to exaggerate the products' quality than how good they really are.

First of all, as mentioned above, beside the original purpose of merely introducing the products to consumers, advertising has now obtained a new purpose - to appeal as many consumers as possible. Through a handful of psychological applications, companies have started to develop advertising strategies that can create good impressions on consumers about their goods, thus increase the likelihood that the items will be added to the carts. I have noticed how different brands of milk design their advertisements. Despite not lying about their products, most of these advertisements tend to overly highlight the key points that will likely to decide potential customers to buy the milk, while simultaneously ignoring other factors that can make the products less attractive to buyers. For example, the big image and slogan on a milk carton points to the assumption that the milk is made from happy cows in a green grass field, meanwhile the fact that the milk contains too much sugar and other industrial additives are put in small letters on the behind. No one except for careful consumers would notice such things in the ingredients and acknowledge that the product is not as wonderful as it is advertised.

Another reason why companies have to make their products more outstanding through the use of advertising tactics can be pointed to the boiling competitiveness in the market. When consumerisms grows, the economy grows as a whole. This has led to the variety of brands selling the same kind of products. In order to survive in the adverse conditions of the market, companies seem to have no choice but to make their products appear better than others. As a result, advertisements of a product begin to find its way to exaggerate its strengths even more so it can outshine the others sitting in the same section in a supermarket. This can be observed in the competition between the two most popular brands of coke: CocaCola and Pepsi. Even though soft drinks like coke have no healthy values, CocaCola still managed to win the battle through the use of effective advertising. Instead of placing emphasis on its chemical ingredients, CocaCola was smart for directing the highlight to the refreshing or warming feelings of drinking its can of coke. Its advertisements always seem to exaggerate the good feelings the product can bring, which Pepsi failed to convey although such feelings are not real. Anyway, as long as market competition is still a thing, the number of overemphasizing ads will continue to increase.

All in all, I agree with the statement that most advertisements make products appear better than they really are. It can be understood that the reasons why the practice of advertising has been deviated from its original purpose are because corporates find this an effective and inevitable way to survive and thrive in the competitive market of the modern world.