Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Having a long history, advertisements have now become part of our daily lives. The fact that we can't even go through a day without seeing any advertisements requires that advertising should be strictly managed to not cause harm to any population. With that in mind, I am of the opinion that advertising targeting young children should be banned or restricted.

First of all, it is the characteristics of kid advertisements that suggest they should not be allowed on television or any other platforms. To be specific, commercial videos for children products are often misleading, whereas our kids are not consciously mature enough to recognize and differentiate between what is real and what is invented. There was once a bubblegum advertisement for kids that featured wild animals such as bears and snakes having fun in a bubblegum blowing competition. To the adults in my family, it appeared a cute, funny ad, but little did we know our young members took it differently. My niece wanted to compete blowing gum with an actual snake and had attempted to approach a snake in the backyard without acknowledging snakes can be dangerous and deadly. The funny thing was my little niece chose to believe in the ad and not in us, indicating commercial videos directed towards young children can have a strong power and influence on them. In the end, my family had to educate the young kids on a daily basic about wildlife animals so they would have a more realistic perception of what is out there.

Furthermore, although advertisements for children products are for the youngsters to watch, they seem to put a strong purchasing pressure on parents. In actuality, we have at least once in our lives witnessed a kid crying in the mall for a toy he wanted. It is safe to say part of such disobedient behaviors can be blamed on children commercial ads. This is especially the case when the ad features a well-known character among kids, or shows that all the other kids have already owned the item. As a result, parents, in order to satiate their children's demand, have to follow kid's trend by buying the most popular products on the shelves. This is neither beneficial for the parents nor the kids themselves since most kid-targeted advertisement are for unnecessary or harmful items such as toys and sweetened snacks. It is true marketing and advertising are to stimulate consumerism, yet teaching and triggering that value in young children doesn’t seem appropriate.

In conclusion, I oppose the broadcast of advertising that is directed at the young population. This is because I don’t feel kid advertising is doing a good job at orienting its little audience to the right thing, and that it is both unnecessary and inappropriate to target at children.