TPO 45 independent writing taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use s

Societies have evolved significantly throughout history, bringing major changes in the roles of each human being, especially in family. While young people's choice of life were decided by their parents in the previous centuries; it is delightful see the modern shift in which young generations make their own life decisions.

There is no doubt parents in the past loved to take control of every aspect of their children's life, from education to marriage and career. First, past mothers and fathers believed the choices they made on behalf of their children were the best options for a promising life. For example, they would find their daughter a decent husband who was probably born in a wealthy family without her being aware of it. As a result, this practice became a norm in the old society and led to many young girls waiting to be married through the help from their parents' social relationships. Second, it is safe to say that parents in history were regarded as the most respected in a family for being the senior in the house. For this reason, they were thought of as experienced life-leaders who ultimately knew life better and thus were the ones who should make decisions on behalf of their young children. Many young people were forced to take over family's traditional career or join the military this way, even if their heart desired something else. How their lives would turn out heavily relied on their parents' important decisions.

Fortunately, as the world developed to be more and more civilized, the young have became ones to lead their own lives as how they want it to be. Young people have become much more independent on their parents or anyone else than before. With the great help of broad education, young ones are able to grasp a better understanding of how the world works as they experience and learn in life. It's time their parents are sorted to be the old-fashioned and less competent, and thus, not worth asking a piece of advice since they mostly wouldn't know. For instance, most parents probably can't advise their son on whether to take computer science or health science since those are beyond their expertise. Additionally, as society places more emphasis on individuality, modern youngsters are trained to know themselves better than anyone else. Consequently, young people don't seem to rely on anyone when it comes to making decisions or picking a way for their own lives. Nowadays, it's not uncommon to see the young move out as early as they can and try to building their lives through their self-calculated choices and plans.

In conclusion, there are several reasons as why there was a big change in the role of parents in directing and orientating their children through the act of making important decisions for them. This is a good shift in humankind as it prepares young people for the world by having them make life decisions and be responsible for their own choices.