TPO 14 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With the help of globalization, the boundaries of traveling have grown out of its national limit to the whole world. Traveling itself is beneficial in many ways since humans learn everywhere they go. However, when considering the enormous difference in cultures and the levels of development between countries, going abroad seems to be of a more rewarding and inspirational journey than traveling domestically.

First of all, when travelers enter a different country, especially in a different continent, they are surrounded by a completely distinct set of values, allowing them to expand their horizon. The most obvious cultural differences between countries include language, customs and culinary. These values usually vary across the same country, yet are still similar to some extent due to the country's nationally united development. Therefore, although domestic travelers can learn lots about different regions in their own country, it is safe to say oversea travelers will be able to learn even more. For example, they can learn the language of their destination country, directly experience and reflect within themselves the similarities and differences between countries they've been. There will always be a wide range of things to pick up on every trip to foreign countries.

Moreover, since residents of a country already know how it is going in their own nation, traveling abroad offers the chance to gain not only more refreshing but also more inspiring experiences. Sometimes it can be very challenging to find the solutions within the same social setting of a home country. In 1911, in order to find out a path to national liberation, President Ho Chi Minh decided to leave Vietnam and headed overseas. In the space of 30 years, he traveled to several developed countries in the west, penetrated into their societies and passionately looked for the way to bring independence to the nation. By observing and learning from those advanced countries, President Ho was able to come back to his home and lead the nation to dependence in 1945. Heading to somewhere foreign provides hopeful travelers like Ho Chi Minh with life-changing experiences that can’t be found anywhere in their home country.

In conclusion, although it is true travelers benefit from any kind of trips, such benefits are not equally the same, especially when it comes to the tremendous difference between traveling domestically and traveling overseas. The experience one gains from their oversea trips can be much more worth-while and influential than from a trip in their own country.