Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer TPO41

Throughout the history, education has been excellently serving its purpose of bringing knowledge and enlightenment to humans, with teachers as its core light guiders. That being said, the vital importance of teachers seems to gradually decrease as time passes. Based on my experience in my country, teaching profession is currently not as appreciated as it was before.

It is understandable why educators used to be regarded so highly, on the same line with soldiers and doctors, considering the poor living conditions then. In the past, when wars were exploding everywhere on the globe, more concerns were placed on sustaining life rather than gaining knowledge. One fact that can be observed in many history books is that those who attended schools or classes were mostly born in either royal or aristocratic families. Education then appeared like a luxury that not anyone could afford. As a result, teachers, no matter where they were doing the job, were always considered wise scholars who were respected and valued by both ordinary residents and prominent members of the court.

On the other hand, there are a myriad of signs that indicate teaching is no longer receiving the appreciation and respect it deserves as an important profession. This displays first in the amount of income teachers all over the world gain each year. Compared to other core professions of any nation, such as doctors and soldiers, educators' earnings are always in much lower numbers. Although there has been a shortage of teachers in recent years, only a little amount of money was added to their salary, meaning there is not enough respect and recognition paid to this hard job. Moreover, as education has become more available to most citizens of the world and even free in some countries, teachers are seemed to be taken for granted these days. Some students and their parents show them little respect, not to mention gratitude, which is completely opposite to their ancestors’ position.

As the world has changed drastically over the past few decades, society inevitably goes through a big shift in its own attitude to educators. The profession that was once gracefully appreciated now remains an ordinary job where teachers are supposed to serve their functions and receive minimum wages.