Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

TPO41

Doubtlessly, teachers play a critical role in the development of a person and with the progression of the society, the importance of education has been acknowledged more, expressed in people seeker for finer education and seeking for place in more elite schools. I believe the teachers are treated with more respect by the modern society compared with the past, as they are the increasingly important and they are the enabler of the whole education process.

To begin with, the present world value knowledge more, because the advent of newer technology. this increases in demand for better education and also increases the demand for teachers. we are starting to understand the importance of knowledge, and understanding how possessing knowledge can give us a huge advantage over our peers in applying for jobs. Without the help of an educator, its getting harder to obtain knowledge especially with more specialized information that will be accessed in university. teachers devote their time assisting us students to complete projects, pass qualification test. As we appreciate what they did for us more, we will respect them more. On the contrary, in past decades, where the average education is lower, knowledge is not so urgently needed, so the respect of teachers is lower in that time.

Furthermore, there are high standards for teachers now, so all those who can become a teacher are valuable resource to the society. teachers now can better convey their thoughts with students, can better communicate with student, a characteristic that is important for teachers to build relationships with students that contain mutual respect. teachers nowadays behave more like a friend to the students, gaining respect by respect the students. it might seem that in older days, students obey they teachers firmly, that some people interpret it as respect. No, that form of relationship is based on fear of the humiliation or physical punishment that might be resulted in if student do not comply with whatever their teachers say, not trust and respect. To extend from this, teachers are generally more knowledgable, and they conquer a student's mind by their friendliness and scholarship.

To sum up, I believe teachers are more respected in the modern world as they are like the "candles that guide us through the night." While being our teachers, they are also our friend.