Some say that the most important thing about being rich is that one has the opportunity to help other To what extent do you agree or disagree

As the world steers towards efficiency, equality is often disregarded, causing the wealth gap to continue to widen. While some people are living in mansions, enjoying extravagant lifestyles, others are lying on the street, locked in poverty. The advocation for affluent people to lend their hands to poor people is growing increasingly popular, and I will offer what I believe the rich should do.

At first glance, helping others seems far down the list of importance for wealthy businessmen; their lives are focused on scenting and grasping new profiting opportunities. After all, in most countries, there are already laws in place to redistribute income. For example, some governments implement progressive taxation and use some of the tax revenue for benefit payments. Moreover, selfishness and greediness can all be seen as human nature, so why would someone who finally found success in their business want to share the fortune? They seem to have no incentive to do so.

However, history teaches us lessons. In the British Edwardian era, there was an intangible wall separating the aristocracy and middle class from the working class. Those capitalists made more money than they could spend in a lifetime, no matter how lavishly they squandered the pounds on expensive ports, or heavy, weighty cars. They greedily reached for more, tucking them deep into the pockets of their tailcoats, refusing to help those poor-stricken. At that time, they seemed to be winners. Eventually, along with other factors, extreme capitalism and selfishness, pursuing wealth with no compassion, brought the great destruction. The European economy plunged after the first shots of World War One, and no one benefited from it.

For rich people, preserving equality through helping others is essential because alleviating poverty can benefit themselves. Firstly, equality can stabilize society, ceasing civil unrests and turbulences that would shatter the economy. Secondly, with fewer people locked in absolute poverty, having negligible purchasing power, the whole society could develop more, so the collective wealth would increase. Lastly, if wealthy people save all their money for themselves, they can only satisfy their materialistic needs, but not earn any respect or psychological fulfillment. People would look at them in contempt; their inherent morality and sympathy would condemn them.

To conclude, rich people should focus on using their power, influence and wealth to help others, to spread love and compassion. Donating money to charities can be a great way to do so.