Many parents choose to teach their children at home rather than sending their children to school do you think the benefits of homeschooling outweigh its drawbacks

In contrast to the conventional “send my kids to school” model, some parents are attempting to homeschool their children. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this new method of education.

Admittedly, homeschooling can bring various benefits. Allowing parents to focus on one child, homeschooling makes education personalized, meaning that the scheme and style of teaching can all be designed to specifically match the child’s needs. Visual learners can learn from pictures instead of tediously long paragraphs of words; aural learners can learn by hearing; people who learn by doing can absorb knowledge with hands-on DIY projects. Furthermore, subjects that are not typically taught in the school curriculum can be incorporated into homeschool programs. Religion, cultural heritage and language can all be passed on so the child can develop an unique identity.

On the contrary, while homeschool might be personalized and protects children from negative influence from their peers, school-based education remains irreplaceable. Communicative and interactive, schools are microcosms of society, and they are designed to function just like how society does, only with no actual punishment. Discussion with peers can teach children important interpersonal skills that would help them grow into well-adjusted individuals who are well-prepared for society. Homeschool students are confined to a closed environment, just like the rose in The Little Prince, well-protected yet vulnerable, beautiful yet vain because they bloom only on the small, distant planet, perceiving their protector and no one else.

To conclude, homeschooling provides flexibility, but this merit is not enough to replace schools as the best place to foster a child well adapted to society.