In the past people used to travel to see the differences from their home country However the sceneries in places around the world seem similar nowadays What are the causes of these similarities Do you think that the advantages of these similarities outwei

The world has become a “global village”; countries are interdependent on each other. It seems that tourists are beholding approximately the same scenery everywhere, as parts of the globe lose their distinctive features. This essay will explain the causes and consequences of this trend.

Globalization, undoubtably, is the major cause of this trend. The beginning of globalization can be traced back to Columbus, standing on the Santa Maria, sighting land. Before the Columbian exchange, America had Native Americans living off the fat of the land, hunting and gathering in tribes. Europe which no longer had a great power overarching it, and had entered the Renaissance, was busy painting biblical scenes and portraits. Starting in 1492, the two worlds, which God had cast asunder were starting to unite and become alike. The establishment of a trade route merged the fauna and flora groups into one: in fact, nowadays, tomato crops which is native to America can be seen everywhere around the globe. In America, windmills and churches sporadically decorate the fields in America, just like how they stand in European fields. A city mimicking York has been established, and was name New York. There must be some similarities in those cities. In the above example, we can see the availability of transport allowed cultures and sites in the “Two World” to converge. Globalization is doing the exact same thing. People, carriers of their cultures, are now allowed to fly around the world, land and thrive in the opposite end of the globe. They carry their aesthetic preferences for buildings, which probably resemble their hometown. As those different tastes accumulate, they would start to affect the scenery.

As scenery in different parts of the world converges, traveling, especially for international tourists, can be unnecessary. Why travel tens of thousands of miles to Denmark to appreciate the buildings that are covered in vibrant colors when there is a town constructed in a similar fashion just a one-day-drive away? Diversity is lost in the process of globalization, making traveling around increasingly monotonous. Moreover, with people less willing to travel, international tourism would plummet, and countries that heavily depend on it would be forcefully hit by this trend.

In terms of advantages, tourists can now experience different parts of the world, their food, their landscape, all in places around their areas of residence. This makes it more convenient for people who want to grasp the view of the whole world.

To conclude, differences in the world are being eaten up by globalization, and this is making international tourism a lot less interesting.