Some people think that the media should not report details of crimes to the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Explicit descriptions of crimes on media are sometimes left uncensored, and people are maintaining to ban it. While excessive exposure of the gruesome details would definitely leave a great mark of viewers, completely banning those detailed descriptions will be another story.

people often argue that viewing crime scenes implant a seed of crime in people, especially when it comes to immature teens. seeing images of horrible deeds might make other minor crimes seem less significant: stealing or simply beat others up seems trivial compared to rape and murder. unprotected from horrific crimes out there, people might subconsciously think that its theft is acceptable. we shouldn’t let crime reports arouse the darkest side of humanity which should be left concealed, out of sight. violence propagates violence, violence is born out of violence. seeing less violence would cause less violence. Moreover, some crimes are, crudely speaking, distortion of humanity, cause of bloodshed that are just too horrible to witness. Vivid pictures drained with blood, unlike brutality in movies which people understand is fictitious, would effectively drag viewers into the scene, leaving them terrified, or even causing them to develop symptoms similar to those of shell-shock. This should be prevented.

However, detailed description isn’t limited to blood and anguish. some crime details concerning fraud are quite educational, and act as a warning for those susceptible to it. understanding how those work would prevent people getting fooled by the same trick. people need a clear view of the society, and crime is simply a part of it. Deluded into believing that we live in the Garden of Eden, people will left themselves unprotected, and unprepared for the dangers out there.

To conclude, we should seek an intermediate between the two extremes. extremely disturbing content should be restricted to appear on TV, and helpful content should be allowed on.