Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress because what matters is the quality of their work To what extent do you agree or disagree

Whether employers should be more concerned with their employees’ dressing manner or their work quality has become a heated topic in recent years.

Some people believe that it is beneficial to have a dress code in the workplace, if only for image reasons. Workers may be asked to wear a uniform to communicate a corporate image and ensure that people easily identify them. This is particularly true to a workplace where employees have regular face-to-face contact with customers and clients. For this reason, nowadays an increasing number of workplaces prefer to set up a dress code and subtly promote the visual uniformity. While it is hard to determine how the visual uniformity is related to quality at work, having a dress code in place may help the way a corporation wants to be perceived.

However, some people think that having a strict dress code may actually affect the employees’ quality at work. One of its biggest downsides is that a strict dress code can stifle individuality since workers are not given total freedom to demonstrate their personal styles. Sometimes employees complain that a dress code causes feelings of stress among themselves and consequently leads to lower effectiveness and efficiency at work.

In conclusion, employers should be concerned about the quality at work, but whether a dress code makes sense for a workplace is a question only employers can answer. With quality of work in mind, it is up to every employer to decide whether he should care about the way his employees should dress.