Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

In any historical time period, the debate on the direction and focus of discretionary government investment around the world has never been completely settled. Although sports are considered more realistic to invest in, more funds should be allocated to encourage the development of arts.

It is clear arts have always been underfunded. First, since not many acknowledge the immense values of arts to people and society, arts are often less preferred when it comes to deciding which is worth putting money into. For example, compared to sports and athletics, arts are rarely funded from training process to national competitions and international tournaments as people presume it will not bring any profits and thus, be a waste, which is not true. In addition, the public's decreased interest in every type of art forms can be blamed on the lack of investment. In fact, arts are usually one of the first to be cut funding in schools, which discourages prospective students from applying to art education as well as creates a vicious circle towards its development.

It would be fair if the governments consider a number of benefits that will accrue from art investments. One of those benefits is that arts produce individuals with critical thinking, empathy and creativity through the process of expressing themselves. Since many thousand years ago, human have started to discover their personality, communicate with others and reflecting society through their works in order to keep growing. Therefore, arts should be more appreciated and encouraged from early education. Moreover, it should be acknowledged that arts assist the preservation and promotion of a country's cultural identity, which consequently brings a myriad of opportunities for both economic and nation brand growth. Korea is an impressive example for successfully accelerating the country's development through allocating a generous annual budget to different forms of art, especially performing arts that are distinctively referred to as K-pop.

In conclusion, some source of funding should be redirected to arts in order to equally support physical and intellectual development of each citizen. This change will also grow a country's identity and affluence as a whole.