Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

In modern days, With the accelerating development of our society, arts and athletics have been playing two important roles in our daily life. It's hard to judge which has more significance. Some people advocate that governments should spend more funds in support of the arts. Others maintain a contrary view that athletics is worth more attention and investment. Both of these ideas have their bases, they need to be scrutinized meticulously. In my opinion, I disagree that governments spend more money on supporting arts.

First of all, supporting athletics can provide more chances and better environments for the athletes. Government influences the public. When governments indicate that they would like to put more money into supporting athletics, it also means they support that citizens pay more energy and income on sports. Sports means more than arts to some degree, and the activities can involve almost all kinds of people even handicaps. For instance, if the government would like to cultivate athletics such as sportsmen from Olympic teams, the influence of a gold medalist is huge. Children would arouse their interest in sports because the athletes have set a good example. Sportsmanship could be a good teacher for teenagers, who needs somebody to encourage when facing difficulties and adversity that they should overcome them with diligence, perseverance and strong belief. As the Roman poet, Juvenal, famously said, " A healthy mind is to be found in a healthy body." Only if sports are paid attention by the nation and citizens, the country would develop better with their strong and vigorous people.

Moreover, let's talk about why we don't spend more funds on the arts. As I have mentioned, sports has a highly educational effect, yet arts are not so educational for all citizen. It's known that arts are somehow obscure and pluralistic. An artwork may contain different and several meanings and some reflect the dark side of society, which is too early to expose to children, and teenagers without correct directions would unconsciously imitate some of the actions.

Besides, there is a saying that 'Artists are inspired by the suffering.' Vincent van Gogh was the best example. He lived on the breadline, with no money, no family, not to mention applause. While Auguste Rodin was hiring beautiful naked models to dance in the studio, Vincent couldn't afford any models, so he can only repeat painting himself towards the mirror over and over again. Through his self-portraits, a lonely and bitter image comes out of the canvas, there's more than beauty, but a story, an attitude, an era. Shakespeare said that art is a mirror held up to nature. All of these wonderful poetic images of mythology are referring to something in individuals. In that case, art is also very personal and doesn't always have model answers, which means it is not same easy as sports to popularize.

To maximize profit, the government tends to invest money in a more profitable project. When we invest the same money in an art exhibition and a sports competition, it is quite conspicuous that the sports competition appeals to more audience and attracts more attention. Thus, sports will become a culture if we treated it seriously, like the Olympics, which symbolizes freedom and equality. Also, sports is more resilient, whenever a country, unfortunately, was involved in a war, the museum and artworks are easy to be destroyed, these masterpieces are too fragile for conservation. But sports don't, like the Olympics, it was suspended during World War, but returned after the war was over.

Lastly, the relationship between artists and athletes is mutual. Athletes represent the national physical strength, artists represent the national mental strength. Neither of them is negligible. But as for a country, we require our people physically strong first and let the athletes be role models. when seeing them competing against the opponents, we feel uniform, a kind of national cohesion.

Therefore, governments should spend more money in support of the athletics, such as state-sponsored Olympic teams and so on. And the athletics field can perform better than now if we pay more attention to it. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people's eyes, I believe my opponents will compromise after reading my article.