Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Agree

1/Most schools have more than two types of projects including personal and group projects. In terms of group projects, the basic line is, to stimulate the ability to cooperate and coordinate.

2/From students' perspective, when in a group and share same grades on the project, we can be encouraged and monitored by other group members, which leads to a substantial increase in efficiency. Also, team work may give students an obligation to support each other. When students face an unfamiliar subject, they may have urges to enhance themselves for not holding their teammates back. And students who are conversant with this field may feel accountable for helping the laggards. Also, teachers should deliberately guide their students into a part of a team, not individual participants. And giving the same grades is a way to consolidate the consensus of collective and focus more on production but not competition.

3/From teachers' perspective, It takes a bunch of time to scrutinize students one by one for their engagement and class performance and will burden teachers' workload. They need to devote those time to more valuable things like devising syllabi or individualizing education for different types of students.

4/A voice rises that it's unfair that an irresponsible teammate can be detrimental to others' final records. However, Just like the story in Aesop's Fables: A bundle of sticks. The father tells his divided sons that sticks in bundles are tighter and stronger than those single ones which are easily broken off. And discord can lead them to misfortune. Everyone will face the situation that we are all single ones after graduation, the ability to cooperate and coordinate can help us accustom more quickly to new environments like companies and neighborhoods, and reduce the stress from isolation.